Creativity in the Frozen North.

January 19, 2016

Last night I went for an inspiration walk around midnight. Sometimes the best thing I can do to help spark a novel idea or flesh out an existing idea is to go out for a night walk with my headphones in. If you know me, I’m definitely the super-ambitious type and tend to have no less than five projects going on at all times. It was true in Chicago, it was true in Wyoming and it’s true again here in Iceland.

I touched on a few projects in my last blog, but here’s the Official List of Munz Projects for January 2016:

  • Getting my YA western “Blade of the Outlaw” out there and desperately trying to convince agents that adventure westerns set during the gunslinging era are not dead (see: “The Hateful Eight,” “The Revenant,” and the upcoming “Jane Got a Gun”)
  • Researching and creating a completely imaginary world based on Icelandic folklore for my MG Fantasy “The Saga of Sigga Finns”
  • Working on the libretto for my epic troll musical, “Trolls of the North Fjord,” set here in the little Icelandic fjord where I currently reside
  • Beefing up the series outline for my possibly-a-podcast-or-maybe-a-TV-pilot, “here/after” based on my first unpublished, ginormous mess of a novel
  • Working on a new YA Contemporary set that’s a little “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty” and a little “Anna and the French Kiss”
  • Ensuring this blog doesn’t fall victim to the five aforementioned projects… *echem*

Looking at all of that my mind starts to go all:

steve-carrell-is-articulate

But that doesn’t faze me. I’ve had much more on my plate and came out the other side with nary a scratch and plenty of work to show for it. So now it’s just a matter of finding the time to get all this together.

The nice thing about life in Iceland is that it’s so much slower than life in the states. I don’t respond to e-mails nearly as quickly as I used to, and I’ve developed a profound ability to thoughtfully stare off into the distance without my mind venturing off into East Jesus Nowhere territory. I’ve always wondered if my dependency to technology was causing some ADHD misfires in my brain, but Iceland has certainly helped me calm the voices (not actual voices) and find some solitude.

On my night walk I had Björk’s “Vulnicura” blasting in my earholes and (I never thought I’d say this) I am really starting to appreciate Björks vocal stylings. I’ve always tried to force Björk’s music into my life, as if, like a blue cheese-stuffed olive, I might somehow acquire a taste for it. I guess forcing myself to like her songs kind of worked. But regardless, if you haven’t experienced the video for “Stonemilker,” you really need to. Best watched on a computer.

The walk definitely injected a bit of creativity into my soul, and I went home to immediately write 1,500 words on my new work-in-progress. But the coolest thing was when I was standing in complete darkness and the light from the lighthouse occasionally flashed over me. I managed to snap this photo of my shadow which looked just like a lighthouse. LOVE THIS COUNTRY!

11872081_10100637880873863_2525400398890787754_o.jpg

So yeah. Iceland is amazing, and I’m loving being here. The winter has definitely been harsh (as has the lack of sunshine), but overall I’m digging it. I wouldn’t trade it for anything else.

Munz.

Leave a Reply

