Trolls & Not Giving Up.

January 8, 2016

Okay. Pumped! It’s 2:09am but I gotta get this off my chest.

It’s a new year! I survived my first Icelandic Christmas and Icelandic New Years (check out my PlanetJH columns here for details). And while I was standing at the top of an enormous fishing ship watching the fireworks explode above the city large town of Akureyri, Iceland, I whispered to myself, “This is it.”

I don’t necessarily know what that “it” is yet, but I assume it was my slightly inebriated brain sending me a subliminal message from the future that 2016 is going to be the year when things start to go right for me and my publishing career.

I don’t think I blogged about it, but my literary agent and I broke off our partnership back in July. It was definitely an unexpected turn of events, and I felt a little broken and talentless afterwards. But after some intense soul searching (and some massive support from my fellow writers), I believe the split was for the best. And I emerged from the fray with”Blade of the Outlaw” firmly in hand. I knew I wasn’t going to give up on stubborn ole Leyton Thacker and his messy gang of outlaws just yet, and decided to immediately get back out there and start querying new agents.

The months that followed were full of rejections from more and more agents telling me that the story was great, but there was some elusive something that was holding them back. One agent even wrote: “I think the writing is very strong, and I felt fully immersed into this narrative world you’ve drawn up. However, and with a lot of internal struggle, I’m going to pass. Although I did really like the characters, I didn’t fall in love with them like I’d hoped.

giphy

Sigh.

So it goes! There’s so much good stuff out there so I understand that agents have to be selective.

As I write this, my full manuscript is in the hands of three agents and am actively querying more. I can’t let my novel fester in some dusty USB memory stick when I have so many friends and family members who are rooting for me to succeed.

Yes, I still get rejection letters. Yes, they suck.

A lot. Haha.

But I keep on querying. And that’s all I can do.

Since splitting with my agent I’ve moved to Iceland, and I’ve been working on a handful of creative projects that have all been fractioning out my time like needy step-children. Among a handful of partial new novel ideas, I’m working on a new MG/YA (can’t figure out where it’s going to lean yet) about a young troll hunter, and I’ve also been meddling with a full-length dramatic troll musical (yes that’s right) with my new friend Þórður. It’s called “Trolls of the North Fjord” and it’s badass. Official promo material sneak peek:

Screen Shot 2015-12-24 at 1.24.36 AM

It’s nowhere near being completed (we’re closing in on finalizing the first song and I’m still trying to organize and write the script), but the process has been so much fun and I’m thrilled to see what’s going to come of it.

But I realize that all of this is a result of me not letting my agent fiasco get the better of me. I know parting ways with an agent is something that happens to a lot of writers; many published authors are currently with their second or third agents. I just have to keep pushing. I know there’s someone out there who’s going to love my story as much as I do, and be willing to go the extra mile to help me get it published. Staying confident!

So that’s the update. For now anyway. I always say I’ll blog more, but really the mood just has to strike me. I also promised a bunch of people I’d post my thoughts on “Star Wars: Episode VII” so there’s definitely going to be at least one more blog on the way.

Thanks everyone for your support and committed readership. I know I will produce more things for you all to enjoy. I will never give up on pulling things out of my brain to entertain you with. Stay tuned.

Munz.

Leave a Reply

