Triple Shot XX

January 11, 2011

Dos Equis! I knew this day would come. Two X’s alongside each other is just way too awesome. It’s when you get to three X’s in a row that things start to get a bit iffy (I’m looking at you Vin Diesel and Ice Cube). So, you may be wondering how on Earth I’m going to make this Triple Shot even more special than the last nineteen. Mathematically speaking I’ve offered up 57 awesome things to you this past year, and have not asked for a single thing in return. My selflessness is overflowing (God, Jesus, take note). To make it to an even 60 I’m going to be traditional and offer up three things that will make your upcoming week (hopefully) tubular

Now. On with the show.

1.) THREE SECONDS

Sweden has been rocking it these past couple years. Because of Stieg Larsson’s “Millenium” trilogy (“The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo” being the first) there has been a huge jump in Swedish interest. I notice it most at the bookstore where I work, as people who have finished the three books have asked for other recommendations having to do with Sweden. Henning Mankell is an author who also writes Swedish mysteries, but recently I’ve come across a brand new (newly translated, I should say) book called “Three Seconds” by journalist Anders Roslund and ex-criminal Borge Hellström. Though there is no unforgettable female character similar to Lisbeth Salander in the book, the same gritty, smoggy, cold atmosphere is present. The story deals with an undercover male officer, Paula, who has been masquerading as a criminal, Piet Hoffman, for the past ten years. When a drug deal goes bad and a Danish officer in the same situation as Paula is killed, an investigation is set in motion that puts Paula in a great amount of danger. I’m not finished with it yet, but it’s pretty amazing so far. Except for the fact that I haven’t been able to pronounce 80% of the streets/names/towns in the book.

 

The Dude Who Played with Fire

2.) THE ABS DIET

So, I’ve never been one for diets, but with the new year I did make a single resolution to take care of my body. It wasn’t necessarily to lose weight, but just to watch what I put in my mouth. I’m slowly trying to wean myself off of drinking alcohol, because a.) it’s expensive, and b.) I always feel like crap. Last year around this time I was about 15 pounds lighter than I am now, so I’ve started a gym membership and have been following this Abs Diet program and have so far lost 5 pounds. Huzzah! I like it because it’s not too restricting, and the smoothies that they recommend you make are pretty delicious. It’s a diet that’s focused on protein and low fat, and not necessarily obsessing over calories. Plus, like any diet, you need exercise to really make it work. Lots of almonds, lots of whey protein, lots of ground flax seed. Slimmer version of me, here I come…in due time.

 

Three Amigos Chili = Delicious

((INTERLUDE))
11:11 a.m. on 1/11/11 just appeared on my computer’s clock.
I panicked, trying to think of a good wish to make on this glorious event.
Completely blanked. 11:12 a.m. ticked over. Son of a bitch.
I’ll try in 12 hours.

3.)  FRINGE

I’m an unapologetic TV on DVD watcher. I can never discipline myself to watch a show as it airs, so I usually just wait until the whole set comes out and then I power through. Recently my coworker Stacey S. lent me the first season of “Fringe” and, though I’m not much into the whole sci-fi realm (sorry “Battlestar Galactica”, you make no sense to me), I’m beginning to enjoy this. Apparently it’s crazy similar to the X-Files (look another X!) which I never really watched. The premise is basically about a secretive branch of the FBI called the “Fringe Division” that deals with paranormal cases that include (but not limited to) mind reading, invisibility, body dissolving, alien technology and the like. Anna Torv, who plays Olivia Dunham, is pretty awesome as the main character–I’m a sucker for badass chick main characters–although Joshua Jackson, as a bratty whizkid, leaves much to be desired. I’m only two disks in, so hopefully I’ll like him more, but recently Entertainment Weekly listed Fringe as one of the best shows of 2010. Looks like I have lots to look forward to.

 

The truth is out there....

 

Munz.

2 Responses to “Triple Shot XX”

  1. Kjera Strom Henrie said

    I stopped by the bookstore DURING THE DAY today (wowzers) and you weren’t there. Boo hoo. (That’s my comment)

  2. Kjera Strom Henrie said

    For my prize, I want a baby portrait/cartoon!

Leave a Reply

