The Munz Strikes Back.

January 2, 2011

Pick up your jaws, hide those erections, for the Munz has returned to the blogosphere. I might be a little rusty so bear with me, but I’ll have you know that all you’ve loved in the past is back (i.e. the coveted Triple Shots, which is all people bitch about), and more is on its way. I do apologize for abandoning you after October 11th, leaving you with less than 90% of me, but I hope that in 2011 I can reward you with that extra 10% to make your love for me complete.

I won’t bore you with the details of the past two months, as nothing show-stopping or life altering has happened other than a concrete decision to move to Chicago once and for all. I visited Portland, OR as I previously wrote about, but it really wasn’t for me. The shoddy public transportation system (Mac? The Mac?) made me miss the El very much, and I realized that improv is all I want to do, forever and ever–and write all the while, of course–and the only place I am going to advance in that field is in Chicago. So the tentative plan is a May 2011 exodus from Pretty Shitsville, Wyoming and make my way back to the windy city. I miss my friends and I miss improv like Leia missed Han, so it would be illogical to waste my time anywhere else.

But let’s talk about 2010. Stuff I liked, stuff I didn’t like. Since everyone in the world is doing them, here’s some top five lists for you (yes, top five; ogle my rebelliousness!). Granted I have not read/seen/listened to every book/movie/album available, but of those that I DID see/read/hear, here are your listos.

Top 5 Films of 2010

Nina, The Swan Queen

1.) Black Swan.
2.) Inception.
3.) The Social Network.
4.) The Fighter.
5.) How to Train Your Dragon.

Top 5 Books of 2010

David Mitchell is a God

1.) “The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet”, by David Mitchell
2.) “Skippy Dies”, by Paul Murray
3.) “Room”, by Emma Donoghue
4.) “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest”, by Stieg Larsson
5.) “The Ask”, by Sam Lipsyte

Top 5 Albums of 2010

Unexpected awesomeness.

1.) “The Archandroid” Janelle Monae
2.) “Teen Dream” Beach House
3.) “False Priest” of Montreal
4.) “The Big Black and the Blue” First Aid Kit
5.) “Infinite Arms” Band of Horses

I have neither the time nor the willpower to hold your hand through every choice and what thought went into them, so if you would like to argue a choice or voice your opinion, that’s what the comments section is for! I promise to reply.

So here’s to 2011, friends, foes and random readers. Now that I have this intro/welcome back piece out of the way expect some meatier fare in the upcoming days, including the first Triple Shot of the new year, detailing three awesome things that have been making the first few days of the new year vicious.

Until then. Happy New Year.

Munz.

5 Responses to “The Munz Strikes Back.”

  1. rach. said

    i COMPLETELY agree with your movie selection.

    i did not read near as many books as you this year… that’s a promise. but did you read Little Bee?

    and i am actually surprised by your music choices. not appalled or anything… just surprised… like “hmmm…”… and it has affirmed the fact that i need to know your music taste better and you need your own radio show stat… STAT MEANS NOW!

    • andrewmunz said

      I did not enjoy “Little Bee” very much due to its horrible ending which ruined it all for me. As for my music, I wanted to add in a few that were left off of other people’s top 10 lists; I would have thrown Arcade Fire and The Black Keys’s new albums up there, but then were would have been the love for First Aid Kit?! Love me some Swedish harmonies…

  2. rach. said

    wull shit… i haven’t finished “Little Bee”…

  3. Michael said

    So, is this the end of Improv in Jackson as we know it?

Leave a Reply

