There is No “I” in Improv.

July 22, 2010

Okay, I get it. I suck at blogging. But you don’t understand, dear reader.  You don’t know what it’s like to transition from small town Wyoming to big city Illinois.  Well maybe you do, but you don’t know what it’s like for me.  Just be happy I’m not coming home every day at a reasonable hour with nothing else to do but sit in front of my computer and type out my latest diary entry.  As much as you would love that to happen, I’m just not that type of human.

Here’s what I’m going to do.  I’m going to offer you five photos of the past two weeks’ Chicago experiences and offer up a shitty, not very well thought out haiku poem as a side dish to each one.  That way you can see and taste Chicago with my eyes and my fingers…   You see, I say fingers because my fingers are doing the haiku typing. D’oy.

C’mon!

Rooftops

“Rooftops”
a haiku

Sweltering, humid
Basking in Chicago sunlight
We celebrate ‘We’

Seen the Bean?

Seen the Bean?

“Seen the Bean?”
a haiku

Have you seen the bean?
I look at me at look I
Bean the seen have you?

Beauty and the Concrete

“Beauty in the Concrete”
a haiku

Urban jungle gym
Above the rooftops sing
Don’t step on a crack

Dirty Feet.

“Dirty Feet”
a haiku

Pitchfork Festival!
Shoes off! Do the hippie dance!
Who needs a shower…?

Turbohydrates.

“Turbohydrates”
a haiku

Pasta, cheese, pizza…
Chicago gets creative
Yes. It’s amazing.

Week two is over and I’ve already learned a shit ton.  I went to the Annoyance Theater tonight and now I suddenly have this crazy idea to start up my own theater one day, full of original shows and improv. No published or previously performed stuff, just 100% original creative theatre. It would be amazing.

Also, if there’s one thing to take away from this week it’s that there truly is no “I” in improv. I am not talking about the letter (idiot), but the idea of individuality. It’s not about “Man I hope I’m funny in this scene,” but rather, “I hope we can pull these ideas together as a team!”  The sense of community here is not in the strangers that pass you by on the street, but the people you perform with day by day. Everyone here has such a passion for improv and it’s AWESOME. Jackson Hole get ready for the “Harold”, because I’m bringing it, and I’m bringing it hard.  If you don’t know what that means…well…sucks to be you for now.

Munz.

Leave a Reply

