Finally Woken.

April 15, 2010

The soggy aftermath of that freak snow storm two nights ago has melted, and now that warm weather is imminent (it has to be, right?!) I’m back to my routine jogging…routine.  My weight is always on my mind, one of those nagging, unwelcome presences that joins the ranks of such Nazi assholes like Lt. Indigestion, Col. Ear Ache and the ultimate Führer, Sore Throat.  Except this lingering obsession hasn’t left my body since, well, high school.  I don’t believe in meticulous diets like Atkins, South Beach, etc.  I think it’s important to watch what you eat, but not obsess about it.

Today, after my 1-hour exercise regiment (which included a 9-minute mile [shut up] and a hustle up High School Butte), I stopped by the Jackson Whole Grocer to get a salad for lunch.  It’s not a little known fact that they have the best salad bar in town.   Anyway, I piled up my compostable box with lots of goodies and stuff I don’t eat on a regular basis.  See: Mung beans.  When I went to peruse the drink cooler for something refreshing I came across the oddest sight.  A skinny green bottle with “Alo” written on it.  I was like “What, an aloe drink??”  Yes, folks.  It happened.  And I bought it.

Unshowered and energized!

I almost went for the plain Jane Jones version (i.e. Just aloe) but I got the Wheat Grass-infused one instead, which is called “Awaken”.  Beware, the bottle has a billion floaties in it, but that didn’t stop me from purchasing it.  One sip, and BAM!  Hooked.  Folks, this shit is AMAZING.  Refreshing, delicious, only 120 calories per bottle, and the floaties are delicious!  There are gooey pieces of aloe that you can chew on.  And there’s little blades of grass too!  Call me crazy, but it’s totally my new favorite drink.  If I were you reading this blog, I’d probably have a disgusted look on my face, but trust me on this one.  Drink one.  You won’t be disappointed.

So my day is going really well, if you haven’t noticed.  I have work today, which is always a drag through the mud at 2 miles per hour, but even so, things go well.  Optimism reigns!  Hope your day goes just as well!

Munz.

4 Responses to “Finally Woken.”

  1. Tracy said

    Mmmm…grass. I’m sitting here eating cabbage & quinoa for lunch, which I suppose is only two steps away from grass, so maybe I’ll try your fancy drink.

    I can’t seem to get away from the Whole Grocer salad bar without spending a fortune. What are your tips on THAT? 🙂

  2. andrewmunz said

    Keep quinoa as your protein, as it’s lighter than Chicken and Tofu. Just a scoop should do. The mung beans are delicious too. And don’t get any iceberg lettuce, but rather spinach. Heavy veggies like cherry tomatoes and cauliflower can be substituted with bell peppers and mushrooms. And obviously don’t go nuts with the dressing or else your salad is gon’ be expensive, girl…

  3. Paige said

    No fair, I want a salad. Or even a place with a salad bar to exist in town. Stupid Laramie. I’m a little terrified of your floatie beverage, but if I can locate one in the near future I’ll give it a shot out of sheer curiosity, and a little terror. hmm. yay being optamistic…my day is beginning to look better too…my taxes might actually get completed and only a day late after my w-2’s magically disappeared from my house in MO.

  4. lara said

    oh, andre… too bad you’ve never met Captain Cramps.. she’s right up there with your nazi and furer companions.

Leave a Reply

