Triple Shot VIII

March 30, 2010

“You’re on a roll!” my mom squealed last night when I told her a few more items of amazing news, and I totally agree.  So, while I’m in the process of deciding what the balls I’m going to do for April’s script fustercluck (another option:  Just work on the effing novel, Munz!), I am also working on (at least) THREE other scripts.  One of which I’ll be directing in May, and the other two I’ll be acting in.  The play I’m directing is either going to be “Last Words” a comedy about a dying author, or “Those Days” a surreal piece about two disgruntled coworkers.  The other two I’m writing are 20 minute pieces, one of which is for the middle school’s Medieval Fair, and the other for a small Vaudeville night that a few friends of mine are putting together.  So I have a lot on my plate, but opportunities keep coming in and it’s awesome.

Other things that are awesome:

1.)  HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON in 3-D

Just saw this yesterday and it MADE my week.  If I could just have a triple shot of this movie, I would do it.  I was skeptical going into this film.  There’s been a few half-assed animated movies released recently (see [don’t see]:  “Planet 51”) and I since they’re all coming out in 3-D now, I didn’t really care too much.  I was shocked.  The film is FANTASTIC.  For once it’s not the hero/villain story.  Yes it is dragons versus humans, but you don’t really meet the “villain” until the end of the film.  The story tugs at your heartstrings (I shed a few tears… I’m a sucker for father/son relationship stuff) and the action is a blast.  The jokes aren’t cheesy, and, all in all, it’s probably the most solid animated film I’ve seen in a long, long time.  I can’t recommended enough.  If you get a chance to see it in 3-D, do so, but if not, I’m sure you’ll still have a good time.

2.)  TIMO RÄISÄNEN

Like “Lars and the Hands of Light”, this is another musician from Northern Europe that is rocking my ears as I type this.  I know he’s Swedish, and I know he’s made more albums than I can get my hands on in America, but that’s about it.  This guy understands how to cook up a melody with solid lyrics.  He reminds me of R.E.M.’s frontman Michael Stipe, but BETTER!  (Those of you who managed to get my Spring-Flavored Mix will get a chance to sample two of his tunes, so sit tight!  Your CDs are on the way.)  I drove to Idaho Falls yesterday, and played his newest album twice on the way there and once more on the way back.  I think I’ve found my new favorite.  Here’s his single “Numbers”.   The heart doesn’t do anything exciting…

3.)  THE FIRST RAINSTORM OF THE SEASON

I’ve been looking forward to this all week.  I’m a huge, huge supporter of rain. After living here for so many years, I’ve seen my fair share of rainstorms, but the one outside is pretty intense!  Not warm enough for any thunder, unfortunately, but still quite amazing.  High winds, cold rain, wet everything.  I prefer a good rainstorm to a snowstorm any day.  Now that the calendar says we’re officially in Spring, it’s nice to know we’re not getting shat on with more snow, which is what always happens in Jackson.  I’m sure those mountains will be snowcapped when it’s cleared up, but for now all this wetness is getting rid of our massive snow pile in the back yard.  Droplets on the windows, rhythm on the roof and windshield wipers flapping back and forth…  Summer is indeed coming, and I cannot, CANNOT wait.

March Droplets!

Time to do some Spring Cleaning.  Looks like staying inside all day won’t be so bad after all.

Munz.

UPDATE:

Six Hours Later... DAMN IT!

Leave a Reply

