Triple Shot I

February 9, 2010

In this segment of Triple Shot, and all upcoming Triple Shot segments (every Tuesday), I will be sharing with you three forms of entertainment that have been captivating me this past week.  My thought is to offer up a movie, a book and a band or album, but obviously I don’t want to restrict myself or you, devoted reader.  Perhaps I’ll post a playlist one day, who knows?  For now, here are the three things that are makin’ me feel spicy this week.

1.) UPRIGHT CITIZENS BRIGADE

What started as an improv comedy troupe (UCB established theaters in New York and L.A. that are in full swing) morphed into a sketch show that premiered on Comedy Central.  Think of it like Monty Python’s Flying Circus on meth-laced acid, blasted with cold water from a garden hose and then coated in tempura and deep-fried in a vat of canola oil and V8.  That is to say UCB is the most deliciously random sketch show I’ve ever seen.  The four actors that comprise UCB are Matt Besser, Amy Poehler, Matt Walsh, and Ian Roberts, and their characters are absolutely amazing.  I invite you to just watch “The Bucket of Truth” episode or even “Poo Stick” to really get you hooked.  The show lasted for three seasons, and also released a live recording of an improv show called “ASSSCAT!” which is hysterical.  Put it on your Netflix cue asap! 

“Oh, this is the Hot Chicks Room. It’s filled with assorted hot chicks, who party in here 24 hours a day. But you’d be more interested in the kitchen.”

2.)  THE MILLENNIUM TRILOGY, by Stieg Larsson

Now, I am not into crime fiction normally, but there’s something about these three books that just slap me in the face and surprise me constantly.  The interesting story behind these novels is that Larsson managed to deliver the three manuscripts to his editor shortly before he had a heart attack that killed him.  What’s amazing is that he was able to offer us three masterpieces, a full cohesive saga, before passing away.  I can’t imagine the panic if he’d died before completing the full story.  Imagine if JK Rowling passed before delivering us “Deathly Hallows”.  Anyway, the first book, you may have heard of:  The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.  The story is set in Sweden and is about a journalist named Mikael Blomkvist who is entrusted to uncover the 40-year-old murder of an industrialist’s niece.  He is eventually assisted by the troublesome, violent, tattooed hacker named Lisbeth Salander, but the two are thrust into an even deeper conspiracy than they’re prepared to deal with.  Exposing the plot of the other two novels (The Girl Who Played With Fire; The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest) would be spoilerific, so I’ll avoid doing so.  But Larsson’s characters are so rich and so multi-layered that it’s hard not to get sucked into the story without caring about the people in it.  These books are dense, but often humorous and undoubtedly excellent.  If you’re looking for something to read, pick up the first book and thank me later.  There’s a lot of sex and disturbing violence within them, so if you’re not into that sort of thing look elsewhere.  I am in the middle of the third book right now (got it from AmazonUK, as it is not published in the US yet), and it’s the best one yet.  Not often do books get better as the series go on, but this one’s right on track.

Covers from the UK Versions

3.)  “KEEP COLOR”, THE REPUBLIC TIGERS

I’ve had this album for a little over a year now, but I’m finally getting around to listening to it.  I’m sure that happens to everyone–you get an album, listen to one song repeatedly, then move on to the next album you’ve added to your iTunes.  Well, I’ve played this album all the way through before, but nothing could have prepared me for how much I enjoy them now.  It’s nice to find little gems in your music collection, and I’ve found just that.  For one, The Republic Tigers have an amazing original sound.  In a few song their melodies are disjointed (“Golden Sand”) but that’s okay!  The music is an excellent mix of indie-folk-rock and classic psychedelic punk like Pink Floyd.  I get hints of The Shins and Interpol, with an aftertaste of The Who.  “Buildings and Mountains” was their breakout single, but I want you to check out this song called “Give Arm To Its Socket”, which is my favorite off the album.  You’ll be linked to Lala.com after the jump.

Give Arm To Its Socket, by The Republic Tigers

Stop by next Tuesday for Triple Shot II!

Munz.

Leave a Reply

